Workstation + 5k

45-248-026_sm_thmBeing in bed for a large portion of the day left me keen to bring my investment in tech closer. Writing and researching goes much better when favourite tools are at hand. Whilst my ManCave (living room) is fairly large, it is home to a stand-aid, breathing machines awaiting use – more during peak activities etc. Another large desk close to my bed would apply pressure on space and to those that care for me. What I needed was a way of bringing my 5k 27″ iMac to the fore whilst I reclined in bed. I’ve been an ergotron user for a while and had 2 twin poles with arms to dangle various combinations of tech above my desk.

Looking around the UK web for sturdy over-bed tables with larger wheels (carpet) produced few that would safely carry the 5k’s weight, those that would tended to be priced around £3-500. Whilst they would place the screen directly in front of me, the screen would be low and entire rig-marginally stable making it challenging to move around on carpet.
Working through the Ergotron (UK) website I found one that’s ideal. Being a sit/stand station it can be adjusted over a wide range vertically, its footprint and wheel assemblies looked as though they would lend themselves well to positioning on thin carpet (they do). Also, in bringing the supporting pillar close in to the bed, the screen is offset from the ‘straight ahead’ view but it’s comfortable.

24-216-085_lg

I went ahead and acquired the workstationand after a little help from my carers mounted an ergotron arm and the 5k. The arms function is to hold and stabilize the 5k on the desk.

img_0060img_0061 

Notes

Research is absolutely key to success. Any ergotron have a sophisticated website to ensure customers can be sure that a purchase will match their needs. Check carefully to be sure your iMac will accept a VESA connection if one is required. My 5k was on a stand, I needed an adapter to connect it to the ergotron arm.

Leave a comment